Northampton
NewHorizonsLogo

Under the directorship of Sara Jones, the Northampton Community Music Center is proud to offer the Pioneer Valley New Horizons Band, a program for senior adults who are either beginners on their musical instrument or have always wanted to learn to play and never had the chance until now. Participants can use their own brass or woodwind instrument, or rent through a convenient and affordable arrangement with local music merchant Falcetti Music (call NCMC for more information).

The program rehearses seasonally in 12-week blocks. Full band rehearsals are held Thursday mornings at either NCMC or the Northampton Senior Center (see complete schedule below), and group classes for individual sections are held Tuesday mornings at NCMC. At least one community performance will be held each season. The cost per participant is only $120 per season, and includes the Essential Elements for Band book for your instrument.

The focus is on creating a fun, no-pressure, all-inclusive social environment in which to experience the joy of making music as a group. We hope you'll join us.

The inaugural spring season begins Thursday, March 2nd, so don't hesitate to call NCMC's administrative offices at (413) 585-0001 with your questions or your registration information.

SCHEDULE

 

Thursday, March 2, 10:30-12:00 at NCMC - Welcome/First Meeting

Tuesday, March 7, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Sectional Classes

Thursday, March 9, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Band Rehearsal

(no sectional classes Tuesday, March 14 - UMASS Spring Break)

Thursday, March 16, 11:00-12:00 at NSC - Band Rehearsal

Tuesday, March 21, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Sectional Classes

Thursday, March 23, 11:00-12:00 at NSC - Band Rehearsal

Tuesday, March 28, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Band Rehearsal (changed)

Thursday, March 30, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Sectional Classes (changed)

Tuesday, April 4, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Sectional Classes

Thursday, April 6, 11:00-12:00 at NSC - Band Rehearsal

Tuesday, April 11, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Sectional Classes

Thursday, April 13, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Band Rehearsal

Tuesday, April 18, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Sectional Classes

Thursday, April 20, 11:00-12:00 at NSC - Band Rehearsal

Tuesday, April 25, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Sectional Classes

Thursday, April 27, 11:00-12:00 at NSC - Band Rehearsal

Tuesday, May 2, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Sectional Classes

Thursday, May 4, 11:00-12:00 at NSC - Band Rehearsal

Thursday, May 11, 11:00-12:00 at NCMC - Band Rehearsal

Thursday, May 18, 11:00-12:00 at NSC - Band Rehearsal

Saturday, May 20 - SPRINGFEST Performance (time TBD)

Thursday, May 25, 11:00-12:00 at NSC - Band Rehearsal

 

NCMC = Northampton Community Music Center, 139 South Street

NSC - Northampton Senior Center, 67 Conz Street

nhbbrassuniversityofdayton

New Horizons Band at Dayton University, Dayton, Ohio

For more information about New Horizons Music International, visit:
http://newhorizonsmusic.org/

JonesBioPic

Sara K. Jones, Assistant Professor of Music Education at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, holds a Ph.D. in music education from Northwestern University. She specializes in instrumental music education, alternative curricular approaches in the music classroom, and music education for students with disabilities. Sara has taught band at all levels, and was an assistant music director for New Horizons Bands in Michigan and Illinois prior to her involvement with the Pioneer Valley New Horizons Band.

The Northampton Community Music Center gratefully acknowledges the cooperation and support of the Northampton Senior Center, the University of Massachusetts Amherst, and the Lathrop Communities of Northampton and Easthampton.